Skip to content

Review for My New Dell XPS L502x

January 18, 2012

It has been about a week since I started using my new Dell XPSL502x customized laptop,and now I decided to write a review about it.

I will start with the specifications:

Processor: Intel Core i7-2640M Quad Core 4x 2.80 GHz ,Turbo boost up to 4x 3.5GHz

Memory: 8GB,DDR3,2 DIMM, 1333MHz Dual Channel

Storage: 750GB 7200 RPM SATA Hard Drive

Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M 2GB dedicated + Intel 3000 integrated

Display and Web-cam: 15.6 Multi Touch HD WLED TL + HD Skype Certified Web-cam

Factory Default OS: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1

Sound System: JBL 2.1 Speakers with Waves Maxx Audio 3

Additional Accessories: Back-lit Keyboard

Wireless Display Cabable

Currently the Laptop is running Ubuntu Linux (11.10 Oneiric)  and the Factory default Windows 7 Ultimate with Grub 2 boot loader.Here are my reviews:

General review:

* The HD graphics is very nice.

* The JBL speakers are mind blowing. I have never heard such a sound from any other laptop or tablet.

* The Multi-touch monitor is cool, and I am waiting for Windows 8 to be released.

Performance for Ubuntu 11.10(Oneiric)

The current version of the kernel is Linux 3.0.0-14 generic.I haven’t put the CPU’s under stress so far, so I have no review for high performance.But under normal operations.

* The system reboots very fast.

* Unity 3D runs smooth. I have only had one crash so far, where the touch pad got stuck when I was navigating ,I logged out and logged in, then everything became normal.

* It drains less power.With the regrettable 6-Cell Battery, it ran for four hours straight, when I only used the browser.

* Sadly Nvidia Optimus is not supported in Linux, There are workarounds to this but I haven’t tried them yet.

* Multi Touch feature of the monitor  is not functioning. I haven’t tried any thing yet for this problem as well, but I am optimistic about the existence of a solution.

Performance for Windows 7 Ultimate

Well the laptop is  targeted for windows so windows is running very smooth. There are some cool dell supported softwares for CD/DVD burning ,Image editing and more included with the factory default OS.

This is just an overview than a review, I will try to write a comprehensive review some other time.Thank you for reading this post.

Here are some you tube videos  from my channel demonstrating the sound and touch screen display:

From → Computers

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment